:::MENU:::

Synchronize all offline files when logging on

Determines whether offline files are fully synchronized when users log on. This setting also disables the “Synchronize all offline files before logging on” option on the Offline Files tab. This prevents users from trying to change the option while a setting controls it. If you enable this setting offline files are fully synchronized at logon. Full synchronization ensures that offline files are complete and current. Enabling this setting automatically enables logon synchronization in Synchronization Manager. If this setting is disabled and Synchronization Manager is configured for logon synchronization the system performs only a quick synchronization. Quick synchronization ensures that files are complete but does not ensure that they are current. If you do not configure this setting and Synchronization Manager is configured for logon synchronization the system performs a quick synchronization by default but users can change this option. This setting appears in the Computer Configuration and User Configuration folders. If both settings are configured the setting in Computer Configuration takes precedence over the setting in User Configuration. Tip: To change the synchronization method without setting a setting in Windows Explorer on the Tools menu click Folder Options click the Offline Files tab and then select the “Synchronize all offline files before logging on” option.


Additional Information

  1. Registry path is:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE -> Software -> Policies -> Microsoft -> Windows -> NetCache # SyncAtLogon

  2. The Administrative Template path is:

    Network -> Offline Files

Notes

* Making mistakes while changing registry values can affect your system adversely. We recommend you to create a System Restore point before making registry manipulation. If you're new to Registry Editor, read this beginner's guide.
** To locate the registry and administrative template path, checkout beginner's guide.
You're here :
Checkout Kapil Sparks™