:::MENU:::

Set action to take when logon hours expire



This policy controls which action will be taken when the logon hours expire for the logged on user. The actions include lock the workstation disconnect the user or log the user off completely. If you choose to lock or disconnect a session the user cannot unlock the session or reconnect except during permitted logon hours. If you choose to log off a user the user cannot log on again except during permitted logon hours. If you choose to log off a user the user might lose unsaved data. If you enable this setting the system will perform the action you specify when the user’s logon hours expire. If you disable or do not configure this setting the system takes no action when the user’s logon hours expire. The user can continue the existing session but cannot log on to a new session. Note: If you configure this setting you might want to examine and appropriately configure the “Remove logon hours expiration warnings” setting


Additional Information

  1. Registry path is:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER -> Software -> Microsoft -> Windows -> CurrentVersion -> Policies -> System # LogonHoursAction

  2. The Administrative Template path is:

    Windows Components -> Windows Logon Options

Notes

* Making mistakes while changing registry values can affect your system adversely. We recommend you to create a System Restore point before making registry manipulation. If you're new to Registry Editor, read this beginner's guide.
** To locate the registry and administrative template path, checkout beginner's guide.
You're here :
Checkout Kapil Sparks™